Pain is Temporary – a little pep talk

Recently, like a day and a half ago, I had surgery on my right eyebrow. It was a minor surgery, just going in to get a cyst out of my upper eyebrow; I was in and out in less than twenty-four hours. I’m not in much pain, it’s bearable, and I feel great but I’ve had a lot of time to think on things.

Yesterday morning, when the nurse was giving me my IV and I was thinking, “Oh Lord, this hurts so bad, I never want to do this again!”, my mind couldn’t help but wonder to a friend of my family. He is currently in St. Jude’s, getting treated for a rare cancer that almost cost him his arm. He is quite possibly the strongest, God-trusting young men I have ever met, and even with all these bumps in the road being thrown at him, he has stayed faithful with a smile on his face.

So why could I, someone who only had to deal with a prick that felt like a bee sting, complain when I have a friend and couple hundred miles away having to do the same thing with a smile on his face? I can’t remember a lot of things from yesterday, but I did happen to remember that. The nurse was just putting the IV in and I was holding my breath, and mom was holding my hand, and I went to start crying until I remembered Corbin. And I thought, “Kelly, you need to suck it up because there are so many kids, your age and younger, who are suffering with diseases and you’re complaining about an IV in your arm?

I was almost disgusted with myself.

But here’s what I’ve been thinking about:

If pain in temporary, then why is it so painful in the first place? Why do we even have to feel pain? What’s the purpose? We all experience it, whether it be physical or emotional or mental, so why do we have to deal with it?

What I found in my biblical research is this:

In 2 Corinthians 1:3-8 it says, “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort. We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers and sisters, about the troubles we experienced in the province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired of life itself.

God allows pain to come into our lives, just so we can know to trust him and to lean on him. How else would a sixteen year old boy know to smile through the pain, because there is a God whom loves him and who has him in his hands. SO why let a little flood, why let a little IV, why let a little cancer get in the way of your joy  and your ability to smile.

The things of this world will pass away but God and His word will ALWAYS been there for the distressed and the weary.

Leave a Reply

